Blogging Fundamentals – Who am I and Why am I Here

I’m just a nobody, living in the middle of nowhere. I suppose that is why I’m on WordPress. Living in rural Ireland, you find people don’t hear you no matter how loud you shout.

I’m nearly 50, married with 5 kids (well young adults) and 3 dogs. I live on the south coast of the Republic of Ireland and am very happy. So what have I got to complain about? I love living in Ireland, it’s beautiful, ancient,  wild and wonderful. The trouble is Ireland has a lot of pen pushers, who’s job it seems is to create problems. Parish boundaries, catchment areas, counties, provinces,  all designed to put one group against another.

The latest one comes from the Irish Tourist Board. They have invented two promotional areas, the Wild Atlantic Way and Ireland’s Ancient East. They are both great ideas, but why separate the country? We could have the WILD IRISH WAY and IRELAND’S ANCIENT PAST where tourists would be invited to look the whole of Ireland, not be segregated. We’re not big enough for that sort of thing.

So what is my blog about? Well at the moment, I appear to be comparing Waterford’s ancient countryside, with  our wild coastline. (But that is all subject to change)

So, if you have already found my blog, sorry for this side track but I’m doing ‘learning the fundamentals’ course. I need to learn what all settings do, and the Queen of the World told me to.

 

16 thoughts on “Blogging Fundamentals – Who am I and Why am I Here

  1. I literally laughed out loud at your last sentence…. that Queen of the World must be awesome!
    Aww, you’re not a nobody. You’re a proud Celt!

    Like

  2. Still here. My twins are doing their leaving school exams, so that has completely changed my daily timetable (so I have very little time to sit with my camera and laptop).
    I’ve also lost my way a bit with the blog instructions. Turns out I don’t like being told what to do. Who knew!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahh, glad you’re still around…. I just wondered coz you started the Blogging 101 then disappeared 😉
      No worries, life gets in the way of Internet fun time (as it should) all the time.

      Don’t like being told what to do – I thought you were married….!!! :-p

      Like

  3. Blogging 101 should be renamed BOSSY 101. I’ve got to this age without needing a widget, I don’t need to start now.
    Marriage is a different type of arrangement, my wife says I have earlids which filter out the things she tells me to do, so not a problem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

